Lewes Racecourse Libary

Lewes Racing Gallery

Bodr-ul-molk wins the 1935 Abergavenny Plate, ridden by R Perryman and trained at Newmarket by F K Butters.

Prize money £166





Belle Esprit wins the 1953 Houndean Maiden Plate, ridden by Lester Piggott and trained at Letcombe Basset by H T Yates.


Right: Celebrate wins the 1928 Newick Selling, ridden by J Marshall and trained by H Smyth at Epsom. Prize money £142

Councillor II winning the 1949 Sussex Maiden Plate, ridden by W Cook and trained by Houghton at Bleabury.  Prize money £138

Right: Dolly Daydream wins the 1951 Mount Harry Selling, ridden by C Richards and trained at Epsom by T Griffiths. Prize money £188

Llangibby winner of the 1905 Lewes Stakes. Prize money £2,245

Right:  Lewes Trained Waxy winner of the 1793 Epsom Derby


Wedding Cake out in front to go on to win the 1936 3 year old Handicap, ridden by Bartlam and trained at combe Bissett by H Golightly. Prize money £166

Right: The 1793 Epsom Cup won by Lewes Trained Waxy 

Metaphor wins the Ringmer Maiden Plate, ridden by B Carslake and trained at stockbridge by Persse. Prize money £166



Right:  Mrs Wragg wife of Jockey Sam,

Lewes 1937 August meeting



Marlborough goes on to win the 1932 Wallands handicap, ridden by G Richards and trained at Epsom by F Winter. Prize money £142

Number 4 Zeus lead all the way to win 1936 September Handicap ridden by D Smith and trained at Manton by Mr Lawson. Prize money £249

Right: Zeus 1936 September


Portway Lane wins the 1938 De Warrenne Handicap, ridden by G Richards and trained at Weyhill by F Hartigan. Prize money £332

Right: The renamed Ticanto won the Chailey Selling, ridden by T Ryan and trained at Epsom by Mr Wootton. Prize money £191

Astley House stables

Right:   Astley House